Mini Golf Payment Methods: Cash, Cards and Phones

Compare mini golf payment methods at four U.S. venues. Check cash-only rules, contactless payments, and cash versus card prices before leaving.

Portrait of Anders Myrmel
Anders Myrmel
Oct 20th, 20265 min read
Illustration of an indoor mini golf lane with one blue ball and an empty reception counter in the background
AI-generated illustration of a fictional course, not a photograph of the venues compared.

Mini golf payment methods vary by venue: some accept cash and cards, some are cashless, and others advertise cash-only payment. Check the exact location before leaving. A phone wallet is useful only if that venue accepts it, and the payment method can affect the total where cash and card prices differ.

We compared four U.S. operators’ published payment information to show what each statement actually confirms. The result is a short checklist for arriving with a usable way to pay, rather than a list of recommended courses or general admission prices.

Research checked October 20, 2026. This is a comparison of official pages, not venue visits, purchases, payment tests, or staff interviews. AI assisted research organization and drafting. The hero is an AI-generated illustration.

Mini golf payment methods: four published examples

We deliberately selected pages describing different payment arrangements. This four-operator sample is not representative of all U.S. mini golf courses. Missing details remain unknown, and a published payment policy does not confirm seasonal opening dates.

Official venue sourceWhat the page confirmsWhat still needs checking
Retro Putt, Green Cove Springs, FloridaCashless; accepts credit cards, debit cards, and contactless payments.Individual phone wallets, card networks, and prepaid-card acceptance are not specified in the payment answer.
Harris Hill Amusement Park, Elmira, New YorkAdvertises cash-only payment and an ATM on the premises. The park includes mini golf.ATM fees, working availability, and withdrawal limits are not established. Confirm operating dates separately.
Ripley’s Bayfront Mini Golf, St. Augustine, FloridaLists cash, debit, Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Discover.The payment answer does not specify phone wallets or split-payment arrangements.
Hickory Falls, Hanover, PennsylvaniaPublishes cash and debit/credit card pricing, with the card price 3.5% higher.Confirm the final amount for your purchase and how any booking balance or extras will be handled.

The useful distinction is between a method explicitly accepted and one merely assumed. Ripley’s names card networks. Retro Putt names contactless payments. Those are different levels of detail; neither statement fills every gap in the other.

Harris Hill’s homepage also carries seasonal notices. Treat it here as a published payment example, and confirm the visit date directly before traveling.

Bring a payment method the venue names

Read the location’s FAQ, admission page, and booking confirmation. Look for three separate answers:

  1. Can you use cash? Cash-only and cashless policies require opposite preparations.
  2. Which cards or wallets are accepted? Credit, debit, named networks, and contactless payment are separate details.
  3. Does the method change the total? Ask for the payable amount if cash and card prices differ.

If you only have cash, a cashless venue needs a confirmed alternative before you go. If you only have a card, an advertised cash-only course needs another plan. Do not rely on an unlisted cash-to-card machine or an exception at the desk.

For phone payments, confirm the specific wallet you use. Keep enough battery for payment and any ticket confirmation you must show. A physical card can provide another option where that card is accepted, but it does not solve a cash-only policy.

Payment preparation belongs alongside what to wear mini golfing: carry what you need without bringing a full bag of unnecessary equipment. If you plan to take your own club, check the separate personal-putter rules.

Compare cash and card totals before paying

Hickory Falls’ published dual-pricing notice says debit and credit card purchases are 3.5% above the cash price. It explicitly includes debit, so a debit card should not be treated as cash for that comparison.

Here is an illustrative calculation, using an assumed $40 cash amount to which that percentage applies:

  • Difference: $40 × 0.035 = $1.40.
  • Corresponding card amount: $40 + $1.40 = $41.40.

The $40 input is hypothetical, not a quoted mini golf ticket or package. This arithmetic does not establish the tax calculation, rounding, or final charge for a real transaction. Ask for the actual total rather than applying this example to another venue.

Use the mini golf prices guide to compare admission formats and the cost calculator to plan the outing. Then confirm the payment-specific total with the selected course. A mini golf coupon also needs its own eligibility check; accepting the payment method does not establish that a discount applies.

Separate online tickets from purchases at the venue

Check what your online payment covers. Admission, a party deposit, a booking balance, and money for snacks can be separate purchases. An online ticket does not tell you how the venue accepts payment for every later expense.

Ripley’s Bayfront provides one concrete ticket-redemption instruction: its FAQ says to present the confirmation email at the ticket counter, without printing tickets. That is a local instruction, not proof that every course accepts a screenshot or uses the same process.

Before leaving, keep the confirmation accessible and check:

  • Whether admission is fully paid or a balance remains.
  • What confirmation or identification staff require.
  • How food, drinks, replay rounds, or arcade credit are purchased.
  • Whether a gift card works for the intended purchase and channel.

Our mini golf gift card guide compares redemption restrictions. If your plans may change, read the exact cancellation and change terms too. Payment acceptance alone says nothing about refund eligibility.

Give a group one clear payment plan

Agree who will pay before the group reaches the counter. Ask whether separate payments are allowed and whether an event booking must be settled by one organizer. A venue accepting both cash and cards has not necessarily agreed to split one bill between them.

For a school or camp outing, confirm the payment arrangement in advance rather than expecting every child to pay individually. Tell the venue whether the organizer needs a receipt or invoice and whether extras will be handled separately. The field trip guide covers the wider supervision and visit plan.

For a casual group, a short message is enough: who is buying admission, what everyone must bring, and whether snacks are separate. Avoid collecting an exact amount based only on an old directory price. Confirm current admission and payment terms first, using the reservation checklist if you need a fixed start time.

When choosing a local option in the course directory, open the venue’s official site before setting off. If the payment answer is missing, ask directly. An unknown policy is a reason to check, not evidence that a method is accepted or refused.

Payment questions before your round

Does mini golf accept cash?

It depends on the venue. Retro Putt publishes a cashless policy, Harris Hill advertises cash-only payment, and Ripley’s Bayfront lists both cash and cards. Check the exact venue before leaving; one operator’s policy does not establish the rule elsewhere.

Can you pay for mini golf with your phone?

Only rely on phone payment when the venue confirms your wallet is accepted. Retro Putt lists contactless payments, but its FAQ does not name individual phone wallets. A page listing credit cards alone does not confirm Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Does cashless mini golf mean debit cards are accepted?

Check the accepted methods rather than relying on the word cashless. Retro Putt explicitly lists both credit and debit cards. Ask separately about your card network, prepaid cards, gift cards, and any minimum transaction amount if those details matter to your visit.

Is mini golf cheaper if you pay cash?

Sometimes the venue publishes different cash and card prices. Hickory Falls states that its debit and credit card price is 3.5% above its cash price. That is one operator’s published policy, not a standard fee at mini golf courses.

Do cash-only mini golf courses have an ATM?

Do not assume so. Harris Hill advertises an ATM on the premises, but that does not establish availability, fees, or withdrawal limits. Arrange the cash you need beforehand if your visit depends on paying that way.

Can a mini golf group split the payment?

Ask before booking or joining the queue. Accepting cash and cards does not establish permission to split one transaction between methods or let every guest pay separately. Confirm who pays admission, any booking balance, and extras such as food or arcade credit.

Share this post

Mini Golf Spots

Find Mini Golf Courses Near You

Browse local courses, compare ratings, and find the right place for your next round.

Related posts

Stay in the loop

Stay Updated with Mini Golf Spots in your area

Get the latest updates on Mini Golf Spots updates and offers delivered to your inbox.

By subscribing, you agree to receive email updates. Unsubscribe at any time by contacting us. See our Privacy Policy.